Python Text Processing Course



This course shows the enormous NLP possibilities of Python. It's both an introduction into the programming language Python and a practical introduction into NLP with real programs. The seminar starts with examples as simple as counting word frequencies, continues with text classification (document classification) and ends with analyzing the semantic meaning of sentences in natural languages like English or German. You will learn to manipulate large corpora, explore linguistic models, and test empirical claims. At the end of the course you will have learnt how to build robust systems to perform linguistic tasks by using Python and the open source library NLTK, Natural Language Toolkit.


Target Group:
This seminar is intended for people who want to learn how to write programs to analyse written natural language. Prior programming experience is not necessary but recommended.

Content:
By "natural language" we mean languages like English, French or German and not artificial languages like programming languages. Technologies based on Natural Language Processing (NLP) are becoming increasingly widespread, and the demand for specialists is continually growing.
  • Introduction into the programming language Python: data types, assignments, conditional statements, for loops and the special data types lists, tuples and dictionaries, functions
  • The essentials of file handling
  • Regular Expressions
  • NLP, Basic Definitions
  • Corpora
  • Finite State Machines, Turing Machines
  • N-grams, Bigrams, Trigrams
  • Categorizing and Tagging Words
  • Text Classification, Naive Bayes Classifier
  • Extracting Information from Texts
  • Word Stemmers
  • Analysing Sentence Structures
  • Building Feature Based Grammars
  • Analysing the Meaning of Sentences
  • Introduction into the Natural Language Toolkit (NLTK)
Of course, like all of our courses, we can also tailor this one as well to meet your specific needs. Please, don't hesitate to contact us.

Dates:
  • From Mon, 12th May, 2014 until Fri, 16th May, 2014 (5 days)
  • From Mon, 23rd Jun, 2014 until Fri, 27th Jun, 2014 (5 days)
  • From Mon, 14th Jul, 2014 until Fri, 18th Jul, 2014 (5 days)
  • From Mon, 11th Aug, 2014 until Fri, 15th Aug, 2014 (5 days)
  • From Tue, 23rd Sep, 2014 until Fri, 26th Sep, 2014 (4 days)
  • From Mon, 11th Aug, 2014 until Fri, 15th Aug, 2014 (5 days)
  • From Mon, 15th Sep, 2014 until Fri, 19th Sep, 2014 (5 days)
  • From Mon, 6th Oct, 2014 until Fri, 10th Oct, 2014 (5 days)
  • From Mon, 10th Nov, 2014 until Fri, 14th Nov, 2014 (5 days)
  • From Mon, 8th Dec, 2014 until Fri, 12th Dec, 2014 (5 days)

Duration:
4 - 5 days

The fees for this Python course per day:

Toronto, Canada:
$524 per day (exclusive of HST)
Lake Constance, Hemmenhofen, Germany:
€369 per day (exclusive of VAT)
plus € 90 for full board and lodging in 4 star hotel
Berlin, Germany:
€401 per day (exclusive of VAT)
London, England:
£401 per day (exclusive of VAT)


Attention:

The price comprises:

© The content and the images of this website are underlying copyright as described in the Imprint.